Schedule and participants at the 2021 World Figure Skating Championships

The 2021 World Figure Skating Championships will take place from March 24 to 28 at the Ericsson Globe in Stockholm. Sweden’s capital will host the World Championships for the first time since 1947. In 1976 and 2008, the Swedish city of Gothenburg hosted the competition.

This year, the World Championships will determine the entry quotas for each federation at the 2022 Winter Olympics – in Beijing, China – and the 2022 World Championships – in Montpellier, France.

The competition will also determine the world champions in the men’s, ladies’, pairs’, and ice dance events. Due to the cancelation of last year’s competition, because of the coronavirus outbreak, the reigning champions are 2019 gold medalists – Alina Zagitova (ladies’ event; not participating this year), Nathan Chen (men’s event), Wenjing Sui & Cong Han (pairs’ event), and Gabriella Papadakis & Guillaume Cizeron (ice dance event; not participating this year).

Former gold medalists competing this year are Elizaveta Tuktamysheva (2015 World champion), Yuzuru Hanyu (2014 and 2017 World champion), Nathan Chen (2018 and 2019 World champion), and Wenjing Sui & Cong Han (2017 and 2019 World champions).

Because of the ongoing worldwide COVID-19 pandemic, the competition will be hosted in a bubble.

Additionally, due to the decision by the Court of Arbitration of Sport, Russian athletes cannot represent Russia at World Championships and at the Olympic Games – that is, compete under the Russian flag or the country’s national anthem – until mid-December 2022. Therefore, Russian figure skaters will compete representing the Figure Skating Federation of Russia (FSR) and will use an excerpt from Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1 at awards ceremonies.

YouTube broadcast: Skating ISU channel
Russian broadcast: Channel One
USA broadcast: Peacock

If you are using Google Chrome as your web browser and looking for a VPN, there is a free option in the Chrome Web Store. The free option allows you to select only a handful of countries but, most importantly for figure skating fans, it allows you to select Russia.

SCHEDULE

Wednesday, March 24:

10:10 – Ladies, short program
5:10AM New York | 4:10AM Chicago | 2:10AM Los Angeles

17:30 – Opening ceremony
12:30PM New York | 11:30AM Chicago | 9:30AM Los Angeles

18:30 – Pairs, short program
1:30PM New York | 12:30PM Chicago | 10:30AM Los Angeles

Thursday, March 25:

11:40 – Men, short program
6:40AM New York | 5:40AM Chicago | 3:40AM Los Angeles

18:10 – Pairs, free skate
1:10PM New York | 12:10PM Chicago | 10:10AM Los Angeles

Friday, March 26:

10:52 – Ice dance, rhythm dance
5:52AM New York | 4:52AM Chicago | 2:52AM Los Angeles

18:00 – Ladies, free skate
1:00PM New York | 12:00PM Chicago | 10:00AM Los Angeles

Saturday, March 27:

11:00 – Men, free skate
6:00AM New York | 5:00AM Chicago | 3:00AM Los Angeles

17:00 – Ice dance, free dance
12:00PM New York | 11:00AM Chicago | 9:00AM Los Angeles

Sunday, March 28:

14:30 – Exhibition
8:30AM New York | 7:30AM Chicago | 5:30AM Los Angeles

PARTICIPANTS

LADIES (FINAL RESULTS)

  1. Anna SHCHERBAKOVA (Figure Skating Federation of Russia) – 233.17
  2. Elizaveta TUKTAMYSHEVA (Figure Skating Federation of Russia) – 220.46
  3. Alexandra TRUSOVA (Figure Skating Federation of Russia) – 217.20
  4. Karen CHEN (United States) – 208.63
  5. Loena HENDRICKX (Belgium) – 208.44
  6. Kaori SAKAMOTO (Japan) – 207.80
  7. Rika KIHIRA (Japan) – 205.70
  8. Olga MIKUTINA (Austria) – 198.77
  9. Bradie TENNELL (United States) – 197.81
  10. Haein LEE (South Korea) – 193.44
  11. Yelim KIM (South Korea) – 191.78
  12. Ekaterina RYABOVA (Azerbaijan) – 189.46
  13. Madeline SCHIZAS (Canada) – 185.78
  14. Eva-Lotta KIIBUS (Estonia) – 181.47
  15. Josefin TALJEGARD (Sweden) – 178.10
  16. Lindsay VAN ZUNDERT (Netherlands) – 174.50
  17. Alexandra FEIGIN (Bulgaria) – 173.52
  18. Nicole SCHOTT (Germany) – 172.80
  19. Satoko MIYAHARA (Japan) – 172.30
  20. Alina URUSHADZE (Georgia) – 169.01
  21. Hongyi CHEN (China) – 162.79
  22. Eliska BREZINOVA (Czech Republic) – 155.14
  23. Natasha MCKAY (Great Britain) – 153.46
  24. Jenni SAARINEN (Finland) – 146.54

Did not advance to free skate:

  1. Alexia PAGANINI (Switzerland) – 57.23
  2. Kailani CRAINE (Australia) – 56.86
  3. Emily BAUSBACK (Canada) – 55.74
  4. Lara Naki GUTMANN (Italy) – 55.64
  5. Emmy MA (Chinese Taipei) – 55.63
  6. Julia LANG (Hungary) – 54.20
  7. Nelli IOFFE (Israel) – 52.43
  8. Ekaterina KURAKOVA (Poland) – 52.28
  9. Angelina KUCHVALSKA (Latvia) – 47.94
  10. Dasa GRM (Slovenia) – 47.76
  11. Anastasiia ARKHIPOVA (Ukraine) – 45.07
  12. Emilea ZINGAS (Cyprus) – 43.20
  13. Elzbieta KROPA (Lithuania) – 41.31

WD – Mae Berenice MEITE (France) ruptured Achilles tendon in beginning of performance
WD – Yi Christy LEUNG (Hong Kong) – suffered injury in practice before competition

MEN (FINAL RESULTS)

  1. Nathan CHEN (United States) – 320.88
  2. Yuma KAGIYAMA (Japan) – 291.77
  3. Yuzuru HANYU (Japan) – 289.18
  4. Shoma UNO (Japan) – 277.44
  5. Mikhail KOLYADA (Figure Skating Federation of Russia) – 272.04
  6. Keegan MESSING (Canada) – 270.26
  7. Jason BROWN (United States) – 262.17
  8. Evgeni SEMENENKO (Figure Skating Federation of Russia) – 258.45
  9. Kevin AYMOZ (France) – 254.52
  10. Junhwan CHA (South Korea) – 245.99
  11. Matteo RIZZO (Italy) – 245.37
  12. Daniel GRASSL (Italy) – 242.81
  13. Han YAN (China) – 235.31
  14. Morisi KVITELASHVILI (Georgia) – 231.81
  15. Lukas BRITSCHGI (Switzerland) – 225.55
  16. Aleksandr SELEVKO (Estonia) – 222.06
  17. Konstantin MILYUKOV (Belarus) – 221.33
  18. Deniss VASILJEVS (Latvia) – 213.05
  19. Michal BREZINA (Czech Republic) – 210.73
  20. Donovan CARRILLO (Mexico) – 204.78
  21. Ivan SHMURATKO (Ukraine) – 204.17
  22. Boyang JIN (China) – 199.15
  23. Nikolaj MAJOROV (Sweden) – 192.79
  24. Alexei BYCHENKO (Israel) – 190.45

Did not advance to free skate:

  1. Vincent ZHOU (United States) – 70.51
  2. Paul FENTZ (Germany) – 68.43
  3. Vladimir LITVINTSEV (Azerbaijan) – 68.43
  4. Basar OKTAR (Turkey) – 67.14
  5. Maurizio ZANDRON (Austria) – 63.88
  6. Peter James HALLAM (Great Britain) – 61.56
  7. Valtter VIRTANEN (Finland) – 60.27
  8. Mikhail SHAIDOROV (Kazakhstan) – 59.14
  9. Larry LOUPOLOVER (Bulgaria) – 58.93

PAIRS (FINAL RESULTS)

  1. Anastasia MISHINA / Aleksandr GALLIAMOV (Figure Skating Federation of Russia) – 227.59
  2. Wenjing SUI / Cong HAN (China) – 225.71
  3. Aleksandra BOIKOVA / Dmitrii KOZLOVSKII (Figure Skating Federation of Russia) – 217.63
  4. Evgenia TARASOVA / Vladimir MOROZOV (Figure Skating Federation of Russia) – 212.76
  5. Cheng PENG / Yang JIN (China) – 201.18
  6. Kirsten MOORE-TOWERS / Michael MARINARO (Canada) – 195.29
  7. Alexa KNIERIM / Brandon FRAZIER (United States) – 192.10
  8. Nicole DELLA MONICA / Matteo GUARISE (Italy) – 186.50
  9. Ashley CAIN-GRIBBLE / Timothy LEDUC (United States) – 185.31
  10. Riku MIURA / Ryuichi KIHARA (Japan) – 184.41
  11. Miriam ZIEGLER / Severin KIEFER (Austria) – 182.30
  12. Evelyn WALSH / Trennt MICHAUD (Canada) – 176.24
  13. Annika HOCKE / Robert KUNKEL (Germany) – 162.81
  14. Ioulia CHTCHETININA / Mark MAGYAR (Hungary) – 157.87
  15. Elizaveta ZHUK / Martin BIDAR (Czech Republic) – 157.29
  16. Anastasiia METELKINA / Daniil PARKMAN (Georgia) – 156.73
  17. Rebecca GHILARDI / Filippo AMBROSINI (Italy) – 154.04
  18. Bogdana LUKASHEVICH / Alexander STEPANOV (Belarus) – 145.55
  19. Anna VERNIKOV / Evgeni KRASNOPOLSKI (Israel) – 145.03
  20. Cleo HAMON / Denys STREKALIN (France) – 144.84

Did not advance to free skate:

  1. Lana PETRANOVIC / Antonio SOUZA KORDEIRU (Croatia) – 44.75
  2. Daria DANILOVA / Michel TSIBA (Netherlands) – 43.12
  3. Coline KERIVEN / Noel-Antoine PIERRE (France) – 42.12
  4. Zoe JONES / Christopher BOYADJI (Great Britain) – 38.79

ICE DANCE (FINAL RESULTS)

  1. Victoria SINITSINA / Nikita KATSALAPOV (Figure Skating Federation of Russia) – 221.17
  2. Madison HUBBELL / Zachary DONOHUE (United States) – 214.71
  3. Piper GILLES / Paul POIRIER (Canada) – 214.35
  4. Madison CHOCK / Evan BATES (United States) – 212.69
  5. Alexandra STEPANOVA / Ivan BUKIN (Figure Skating Federation of Russia) – 208.77
  6. Charlene GUIGNARD / Marco FABBRI (Italy) – 205.20
  7. Lilah FEAR / Lewis GIBSON (Great Britain) – 196.92
  8. Laurence FOURNIER BEAUDRY / Nikolaj SORENSEN (Canada) – 196.88
  9. Kaitlin HAWAYEK / Jean-Luc BAKER (United States) – 188.51
  10. Tiffani ZAGORSKI / Jonathan GUERREIRO (Figure Skating Federation of Russia) – 188.45
  11. Sara HURTADO / Kirill KHALIAVIN (Spain) – 186.13
  12. Natalia KALISZEK / Maksym SPODYRIEV (Poland) – 183.33
  13. Shiyue WANG / Xinyu LIU (China) – 182.90
  14. Marjorie LAJOIE / Zachary LAGHA (Canada) – 180.71
  15. Allison REED / Saulius AMBRULEVICIUS (Lithuania) – 178.18
  16. Adelina GALYAVIEVA / Louis THAURON (France) – 173.55
  17. Evgeniia LOPAREVA / Geoffrey BRISSAUD (France) – 169.70
  18. Katharina MUELLER / Tim DIECK (Germany) – 168.33
  19. Misato KOMATSUBARA / Tim KOLETO (Japan) – 167.81
  20. Alexandra NAZAROVA / Maxim NIKITIN (Ukraine) – 167.34

Did not advance to free dance:

  1. Juulia TURKKILA / Matthias VERSLUIS (Finland) – 64.59
  2. Natalie TASCHLEROVA / Filip TASCHLER (Czech Republic) – 64.00
  3. Anna YANOVSKAYA / Adam LUKACS (Hungary) – 62.78
  4. Holly HARRIS / Jason CHAN (Australia) – 60.73
  5. Carolina MOSCHENI / Francesco FIORETTI (Italy) – 60.60
  6. Shira ICHILOV / Laurent ABECASSIS (Israel) – 55.27
  7. Yuliia ZHATA / Berk AKALIN (Turkey) – 52.21
  8. Viktoria SEMENJUK / Ilya YUKHIMUK (Belarus) – 51.15
  9. Chelsea VERHAEGH / Sherim VAN GEFFEN (Netherlands) – 50.79
  10. Ekaterina KUZNETSOVA / Oleksandr KOLOSOVSKYI (Azerbaijan) – 46.19
  11. Mina ZDRAVKOVA / Christopher M. DAVIS (Bulgaria) – 45.28

WD – Tina GARABEDIAN / Simon PROULX SENECAL (Armenia) – medical reason

10 thoughts on “Schedule and participants at the 2021 World Figure Skating Championships

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: