Russia announces skaters for World Team Trophy

Anna Shcherbakova (front) and Elizaveta Tuktamysheva (back) during the award ceremony at the 2021 World Figure Skating Championships (Photo by Natalia Fedosenko/TASS via Getty Images)

Following the completion of the 2021 World Figure Skating Championships, the Figure Skating Federation of Russia already announced the athletes who will represent the nation at the World Team Trophy competition next month in Japan.

The selected skaters are newly crowned World champion Anna Shcherbakova and former World title holder Elizaveta Tuktamysheva in the ladies’ event, 2018 World bronze medalist Mikhail Kolyada and Russian Junior national champion Evgeni Semenenko in the men’s event, 2021 World champions Anastasia Mishina and Aleksandr Galliamov in the pairs’ event, and the current World champions of the ice dance event Victoria Sinitsina and Nikita Katsalapov.

According to the federation’s news release, the composition of the team was formed according to the sports principle following the results of the World Championships.

The World Team Trophy will take place in the Japanese city Osaka from April 15 to 18. It has been held six times since 2009 – every other year, except when the competition was moved from 2011 to 2012 due to 2011 Tōhoku earthquake and tsunami. The United States have medaled all six times, winning the most – four – of the competitions. Russia medaled in the latest three competitions: silver in 2015 and 2017, and bronze in 2019. However, they have not won gold yet – coming as close to the trophy as one point behind the United States in 2015.

One thought on “Russia announces skaters for World Team Trophy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: