French team for the World Team Trophy

Kevin Aymoz at the 2021 World Figure Skating Championships (Photo by Joosep Martinson/International Skating Union via Getty Images)

Following the withdrawal by the Chinese Skating Association, France was added as an entry to the 2021 World Team Trophy of figure skating. The French Federation of Ice Sports is one of two nations to have already announced their participants for the competition.

France will be represented by four-time national champion Kevin Aymoz and three-time national runner-up Adam Siao Him Fa in the men’s event, 2021 French national champion Lea Serna and two-time national silver medalist Maia Mazzara in the ladies’ event, two-time national champions Cleon Hamon and Denys Strekalin in the pairs’ event, and 2021 French national ice dance champions Adelina Galyavieva and Louis Thauron.

The World Team Trophy will take place in the Japanese city Osaka from April 15 to 18. It has been held six times since 2009 – every other year, except when the competition was moved from 2011 to 2012 due to 2011 Tōhoku earthquake and tsunami. The United States have medaled all six times, winning the most – four – of the competitions. France have never medaled but have placed fourth three times. In 2012, they were tied with Canada for third place with 42 points but lost on a tiebreaker.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: