Schedule and participants at the 2021 World Team Trophy

The ISU World Team Trophy is a figure skating competition sanctioned by the International Skating Union (ISU) and held in Japan, where the top six members compete in a team format with points awarded based on skaters’ placements in men’s (two participants per country), ladies’ (two participants per country), pairs’ (one entry per country), and the ice dance (one entry per country) events.

It has been held six times since 2009 – every other year, except when the competition was moved from 2011 to 2012 due to 2011 Tōhoku earthquake and tsunami.

The United States have been the most successful country in the competition – medaling all six times and winning four of them (2009, 2013, 2015, and 2019). Japan have also medaled at every edition of the competition – winning twice (2012 and 2017). Canada and Russia have each medaled three times – both nations have two silver medals and one bronze medal.

This year’s World Team Trophy will take place from April 15 to 18 in Osaka.

SCHEDULE

Thursday, April 15:

15:05 – Ice dance, rhythm dance
2:05AM New York | 1:05AM Chicago | 11:05PM (Wednesday, April 14) Los Angeles

16:25 – Ladies, short program
3:25AM New York | 2:25AM Chicago | 12:25AM Los Angeles

18:25 – Men, short program
5:25AM New York | 4:25AM Chicago | 2:25AM Los Angeles

Friday, April 16:

15:20 – Pairs, short program
2:20AM New York | 1:20AM Chicago | 11:20PM (Thursday, April 15) Los Angeles

16:45 – Ice dance, free dance
3:45AM New York | 2:45AM Chicago | 12:45AM Los Angeles

18:10 – Men, free skate
5:10AM New York | 4:10AM Chicago | 2:10AM Los Angeles

Saturday, April 17:

15:15 – Pairs, free skate
2:15AM New York | 1:15AM Chicago | 11:15PM (Friday, April 16) Los Angeles

16:50 – Ladies, free skate
3:50AM New York | 2:50AM Chicago | 12:50AM Los Angeles

Sunday, April 18:

14:00 – Gala exhibition
1:00AM New York | 12:00AM Chicago | 10:00PM (Saturday, April 17) Los Angeles

PARTICIPANTS (final results)

1. Russia – 125 points

Men: Mikhail Kolyada, Evgeni Semenenko
Ladies: Anna Shcherbakova, Elizaveta Tuktamysheva (Captain)
Pairs: Anastasia Mishina & Aleksandr Galliamov
Ice Dance: Victoria Sinitsina & Nikita Katsalapov

2. United States – 110 points

Men: Jason Brown (Captain), Nathan Chen
Ladies: Karen Chen, Bradie Tennell
Pairs: Alexa Knierim & Brandon Frazier
Ice Dance: Kaitlin Hawayek & Jean-Luc Baker

3. Japan – 107 points

Men: Yuzuru Hanyu, Shoma Uno
Ladies: Rika Kihira, Kaori Sakamoto
Pairs: Riku Miura & Ryuichi Kihara (Captain)
Ice Dance: Misato Komatsubara & Tim Koleto

4. Italy – 72 points

Men: Daniel Grassl
Ladies: Lara Naki Gutmann, Ginevra Lavinia Negrello
Pairs: Nicole Della Monica & Matteo Guarise (Captain)
Ice Dance: Charlene Guignard & Marco Fabbri

5. France – 67 points

Men: Kevin Aymoz (Captain), Adam Siao Him Fa
Ladies: Maia Mazzara, Lea Serna
Pairs: Cleo Hamon & Denys Strekalin
Ice Dance: Adelina Galyavieva & Louis Tauron

6. Canada – 57 points

Men: Nam Nguyen (Captain), Roman Sadovsky
Ladies: Gabrielle Daleman, Alison Schumacher
Pairs: Lori-Ann Matte & Thierry Ferland
Ice Dance: Carolane Soucisse & Shane Firus

10 thoughts on “Schedule and participants at the 2021 World Team Trophy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: